Meatloaf for Dad

mfd_phixr (1)
I’m a carnivore, through and through!  In my home I’m surely outnumbered when it comes to meatloaf lovers. I LOVE meatloaf and well my daughter doesn’t. She never has!  My granddaughter would eat it BUT she would prefer a “plain” meatloaf. I don’t want a plain meatloaf, I want to add bell peppers, onion, garlic… I want it to taste good!
I recently had a conversation with my dad and he was telling me about what proteins that he eats on his diet, he’s following the blood type diet and only eats turkey and chicken…sad…
He then started saying how much he loves MEATLOAF and would “stray” from his diet to eat a piece of meatloaf. DONE! Another meatloaf eater, I didn’t need any more encouragement. I was making a meatloaf and I finally had someone to share it with… meatloaf for dad!
2lbs ground beef (I used angus)
2 eggs
2 T tomato paste
3 T milk (I used almond milk)
1 large red bell pepper (diced)
1 large shallot (diced)
1 1/2 t salt
3/4 t black pepper
1 t garlic powder
Add all your ingredients to a large bowl, with the exception of the bell pepper and shallot.
I add my red pepper and shallot to a bowl with a little salt and EVOO and microwave for a few minutes. I just like the meatloaf when the veggies are pre-cooked a little bit. You don’t have to do this you can add the veggies in raw.
If you are pre-cooking the veggies just let them cool a little before adding them to the remaining ingredients for your meatloaf.
I don’t use a loaf pan, after my ingredients are mixed up I just form my meatloaf on a foil lined cookie sheet.
I baked mine at 400 degrees for an hour. Everyone’s ovens are different, you want the temperature of the meatloaf to be 165 degrees.
This meatloaf is tasty and my daughter actually liked it!  Feel free to make it your own by adding more or different spices. Here’s a little tip when making meatloaves or burgers. Once you have your ingredients all put together, cook up a small amount of the meat and TASTE it. If you like it put it in the oven, if you don’t adjust the spices!
Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

